Monday, March 25, 2013

Loro Piana Superyacht Regatta & Rendezvous 2013

A great couple of days of racing was had by the owners, guests and crews of the twenty superyachts that took part in the 2013 Loro Piana Superyacht Regatta & Rendezvous. The racing took place in the beautiful waters and surroundings of Virgin Gorda in the British Virgin Islands.

As the owners and their superyachts took to the starting line for the last race it was all to play for across all the classes, as the battle for the penultimate 1st place was up for grabs. The race committee for the third and final race chose a long course clockwise around Virgin Gorda and outside all the Dog Islands, with the Division B yachts rounding inside Ginger Island and the Division A yachts heading outside Ginger.

Most of the yachts headed left up the first beat, but the first real test was at the northeast corner of Virgin Gorda. Here the kites were hoisted and the yachts were set for an epic gybing battle all along the south side of the island.

By the time the Division B yachts reached Round Rock, Athos was out in front with Wild Horses just three minutes behind. Sejaa was also having a good day, rounding third.

Meanwhile, the Division A yachts were also battling it out. By the time they got to the western end of Ginger Island, it was Indio that had made the best progress on the run, dropping her kite and hardening up for the reach to the Dogs a minute ahead of Salperton and Cape Arrow, who were separated by just 10 seconds. Hanuman, P2 and Rebecca were not far behind.

From the Dogs it was a final beat to the finish, and it was Indio who took the final line honours. But with so many close finishes there were some tense moments as the yachts headed back to the Yacht Club Costa Smeralda marina.

Division A Final Results
  •  1st: Salperton IV
  • 2nd: Cape Arrow
  • 3rd: Hanuman
  • 4th: P2
  • 5th: Indio
  • 6th: Rebecca
  • 7th: Freya
  • 8th: Zefira
  • 9th: Unfurled
  • 10th: Endeavour
  • 11th: Blues
  • 12th: Baiurdo VI 

   Division B Final Results
  • 1st: Bolero
  • 2nd: Athos
  • 3rd: Sarafin
  • 4th: Wild Horses
  • 5th: Parsifal III
  • 6th: Carl Linne
  • 7th: Aiyana
  • 8th: Sejaa

No comments:

Post a Comment